Stampioo vs Square Loyalty (2026): standalone Wallet card or loyalty inside Square POS?
Square Loyalty lives inside Square POS and is priced by loyalty visits per location. Stampioo is a flat-price Wallet card that works beside any till. Here is where each wins, with a worked example for a UK café.

In short
- Square Loyalty is part of Square POS: points are earned at checkout with no scanning, the pass goes to Apple Wallet only, and the price rises with loyalty visits and locations. Stampioo is a standalone Wallet card for Apple and Google Wallet at a flat price, with no POS integration.
- Square UK charges £25, £45 or £65 a month per location depending on loyalty visits. Stampioo charges €29 a month for one location, or €49 for five, whatever the visit count. Checked 3 November 2026.
- A café with 600 loyalty visits a month pays £45 on Square UK. On Stampioo it pays €29.
- If you run Square POS and want stamping to happen by itself at checkout, stay on Square. If you want both Wallets, a visual stamp card and a price that does not grow with success, choose Stampioo.
This is the one comparison on our site where the honest answer is often “stay where you are”. Square Loyalty is not a separate product you bolt on; it is a feature of Square’s till, and the convenience of points appearing on the receipt without a scan is real. Stampioo is the opposite kind of tool: a loyalty card in Apple Wallet and Google Wallet that your staff stamp with a phone, independent of whatever till you use. People compare the two because both promise “no app for the customer”. Below is what else is different.
We should say who we are: Stampioo, the company behind one of the two tools. We have no POS integration and never will claim that Stampioo plugs into Square. Every price here is from Square’s own UK and US pages on the date shown, and the paragraph on who should stay on Square is written as plainly as the one on who should leave.
Side by side, checked 3 November 2026
| Square Loyalty | Stampioo | |
|---|---|---|
| Customer app | No; customers enrol at the till, online or by signup link | No, Wallet card |
| Apple Wallet | Yes, a loyalty pass | Yes, the whole card |
| Google Wallet | Not offered | Yes, the whole card |
| Stamping method | Automatic at Square checkout: points by visit, spend or items | Staff scan the card with the phone browser |
| Push messages | Transactional text notifications when points or rewards are earned | Wallet updates on all plans; targeted campaigns on Pro |
| Languages | Not stated; Square runs regional sites in 8 countries | 29 (website, dashboard, support) |
| Hosting and GDPR | Block, Inc., US; not stated on the loyalty page | Allvia AB, Sweden; GDPR data processor; runs on Netlify, which may process data in the US under DPF and SCCs |
| Free trial | 30 days | 30 days; no card details |
| Starting price | £25/month per location (UK, up to 500 loyalty visits); US: under the Plus plan | €29/month or €23/month billed yearly |
| Per-visit or per-location fees | Yes: £45 at 501 to 1,500 visits, £65 above, per location | None; Pro €49 for 5 locations, Enterprise €99 unlimited |
| POS integration | Built into Square POS, Square Online and Square Invoices | None; works beside any till |
One line of arithmetic shows the pricing model. A UK café that logs 600 loyalty visits in a month (enrolments, points and redemptions together) is in Square’s middle tier and pays £45 for that location. The same café on Stampioo pays €29 on Starter, and the figure does not move at 900 or 2,000 visits. With three locations, Square charges three times its tier; Stampioo Pro at €49 covers five. Full plan details are on the pricing page.
Stay on Square Loyalty if
- You run Square POS and want loyalty to happen at checkout without a scan, a QR code or a staff step. Nothing standalone, Stampioo included, matches that.
- You want points tied to spend or to specific items, not a stamp per visit.
- You use Square Online or Square Invoices and want customers to enrol and earn there too.
- You want loyalty-attributed sales in the same reports as the rest of your Square data.
- Your customers are almost all on iPhone, so the Apple-only pass is not a limitation.
Choose Stampioo if
- You do not use Square, or you might change till one day. Stampioo has no POS dependency, so the loyalty programme survives a change of card terminal.
- Half your customers are on Android. Square offers no Google Wallet pass; Stampioo issues the card to both Wallets.
- You want a visual stamp card, the kind customers understand without explanation: 2 to 20 stamps, a reward at the end.
- You want a flat price. Square’s UK tiers rise with loyalty visits, which means the bill rises as the programme works.
- You want the dashboard in one of 29 languages, and a scanner that runs in the browser on any phone at the till.
Where Stampioo loses
Stampioo has no POS integration, so every stamp needs a member of staff to scan the card. There is no free plan, no public API, no spend-based points, prices are in euros and Swedish kronor only, and the public review count is tiny next to Square’s. For a busy Square shop where the till already does the work, those are good reasons to stay.
What the sources get wrong
Square’s US pricing has moved. Older comparison pages still quote $45, $75 and $105 per location by visit tier. On 3 November 2026, Square’s US pricing page lists “Loyalty rewards program” under its Plus plan and did not show a Plus price in the page text we could read; third-party pages quote about $49 per location a month. We have therefore used the UK page, which still shows clear tiers (£25, £45, £65), for every figure in the table. The other recurring error is “Square Loyalty works with Apple and Google Wallet”: Square’s own page mentions Apple Wallet only.
A Wallet card that works beside any till
Create a loyalty programme, print the QR code and stamp with the phone you already have at the counter. 30 days free, no card details.
Try free for 30 daysFrequently asked questions
Does Square Loyalty work without Square POS?
Square sells it as part of Square: customers earn points at the Square Point of Sale app, on a Square Online site or through Square Invoices, and the US pricing page describes it as a rewards programme that connects to your POS. It is not offered for use with another till. Stampioo has no POS integration at all, so it works beside any till, Square included.
How much does Square Loyalty cost in the UK?
On 3 November 2026, Square’s UK page lists £25 a month per location for up to 500 loyalty visits, £45 for 501 to 1,500 and £65 for 1,501 or more, with no long-term contract. A loyalty visit is an enrolment, a point earned or a reward redeemed. In the US, Loyalty is listed under the Plus plan; Square’s page did not show the Plus price when we checked, and third-party pages quote about $49 per location a month.
Does Square Loyalty support Apple Wallet and Google Wallet?
Apple Wallet only. Square’s UK page says customers can add the digital loyalty pass to Apple Wallet; Google Wallet is not mentioned, and a Square Community moderator has confirmed the pass is for iOS devices. Stampioo issues the card to both Apple Wallet and Google Wallet.
Is Square Loyalty a stamp card or a points programme?
A points programme. Customers can earn points by visit, by amount spent or by items purchased, so a point per visit behaves like a stamp, but the customer sees a points balance on the receipt and in the pass rather than a card filling up with stamps. Stampioo is a visual stamp card: 2 to 20 stamps, one reward.
If I already use Square POS, should I switch to Stampioo?
Usually not, if automatic stamping at checkout is what you value: Square awards points without anyone scanning anything. Switch if you want Google Wallet as well as Apple Wallet, a flat price that does not rise with visits or locations, a visual stamp card, or a loyalty programme you can keep if you ever change till.
What does a café with 600 loyalty visits a month pay?
On Square UK, 600 visits falls in the 501 to 1,500 tier: £45 a month for that location. On Stampioo the same café pays €29 a month on Starter, or €23 a month billed yearly, however many visits it has. Prices as shown on 3 November 2026.
Checked on 3 November 2026 against these pages. The US per-location figure is third-party.
Keep reading
Square Loyalty review 2026: cost, lock-in, and 7 alternatives that work with any till
ComparisonBest loyalty card app for cafés in the UK (2026): 9 options for your business, priced in pounds
ComparisonLoyalzoo alternatives (2026): 7 loyalty tools with a longer trial or a card customers carry
Launch your loyalty programme this week.
Start with a 30-day free trial.
Create my card for freeSet up in minutes · Cancel anytime
